2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Ruud, Rune & more

2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Ruud, Rune & more

by Zachary Wimer

Last updated

Tennis players simply love to compete in front of fans in Mexico and that's also why the 2023 Mexican Open, which is held in Acapulco is an ATP 500 event.

The tournament is played from February 27th through March 4th and in 2023, it will be held for the 30th time. Since last year, the tournament is held at the Arena GNP Seguros, and it will welcome players also in 2023. This year, the ATP 500 event in Acapulco will be held without the defending champion, as Rafael Nadal announced already earlier that he won't be defending his title.

But another talented Spaniard and former world no. 1, that resembles the 22-time Grand Slam champion to many, Carlos Alcaraz, will be competing at the 2023 Mexican Open and he can meet Casper Ruud, who is also one of the players featured on the entry list, in a rematch of their 2022 US Open final.

The 2023 Australian Open finalist, Stefanos Tsitsipas was also supposed to play in Acapulco, but he withdrew from the event. However, some winners of ATP 1000 events from last year will be present in Mexico too. Taylor Fritz, who won the Indian Wells, and Holger Rune, who won the Paris Masters are another Top 10 players that singed up for the Mexican Open.

Moreover, the likes of Cameron Norrie, Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Matteo Berrettini, Alex de Minaur, Sebastian Korda, and Denis Shapovalov completed the star-studded entry list for this tournament that you can see in full below.

2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Entry List:

Seed  Name  Seeding Ranking Entry Ranking
1 Carlos Alcaraz 2 2
2 Casper Ruud 4 4
3 Taylor Fritz 7 8
4 Holger Rune 10 9
5 Cameron Norrie 13 11
6 Frances Tiafoe 15 15
7 Tommy Paul 21 19
8 Alex de Minaur 23 25
Matteo Berrettini 24 22
Denis Shapovalov 27 27
Miomir Kecmanovic 30 34
Yoshihito Nishioka 32 33
John Isner 36 42
J.J. Wolf 39 48
(WC) Ben Shelton 42
Brandon Nakashima 46 50
Mackenzie McDonald 49 63
Alex Molcan 54 55
Marcos Giron 55 57
Adrian Mannarino 62 58
Oscar Otte 77 80
Michael Mmoh 82 83
Emilio Gomez 91 106
Daniel Altmaier 95 91
Christopher Eubanks 102 103
Nuno Borges 103 105
(WC) Feliciano Lopez 1039
(WC) Rodrigo Pacheco Mendez 1315


You may also like