The Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slams in the calendar, and it's usually the third major of the year, and the only played on grass courts.

Date: 1 - 14 July
Category: Grand Slam
Surface: Grass
Location: London, Great Britain
Venue: All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club
Players: 128 players (Men's Entry List / Women's Entry List)
Prize Money: £44.7 million (2023) (Distribution Overview)
Points: 2000 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: Men's Draw / Women's Draw
Official website: https://www.wimbledon.com/

The Wimbledon Championships, also referred to as only Wimbledon, is the oldest and most prestigious tennis tournament in the world. It was founded back in 1877, and since then, it has always been contested at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in London, Great Britain.

Currently, Wimbledon is the only grass-court Grand Slam tournament in the calendar, and every year, it welcomes 128 players in the singles main draw and 64 pairs in doubles draws, along with mixed doubles, junior, and wheelchair competitions.

The prestigious event and highly lucrative tournament sees players competing for 2000 points for the champion, major titles, and prestige that are closely tied to Wimbledon, as every year, the champion and runner-up receive their titles from the President of the All England Club, The Duke of Kent.

Over the years, multiple records were broken at the tournament, most notably the one for the longest tennis match in history when John Isner and Nicolas Mahut battled for three days. The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club was founded already in 1868, nine years before the tournament was founded.

Almost every name that means something in the world of tennis won the title at Wimbledon as the list of champions includes almost every multi-Grand Slam winner. The most successful woman in the tournament's history is Martina Navratilova with nine titles, while Roger Federer won the men's competition eight times in his career.

You may also like