WTA Finals

The WTA Finals is a women's year-end tennis tournament, which is held annually, and historically it has been held at many different venues.

Date: 2 - 9 November
Category: Finals
Surface: Hard
Location: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Venue: TBA
Players: 8 players (Entry List)
Prize Money: $15,250,000 (Distribution Overview)
Points: Max 1500 for the champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: WTA Draw

The WTA Finals was first held back in 1972, and it's also known as the WTA Tour Championships or the WTA Championships, and it's a year-end WTA tournament for which only the best eight singles players and the best eight doubles teams qualify.

Over the years, the event has been held at many different venues in different cities, such as Los Angeles, New York City, Munich, Madrid, and Istanbul, before moving to Singapore where it was held between 2013 and 2018.

In 2019, the WTA signed a deal with the venue in Shenzhen, China until 2028, but after the tournament had to be cancelled in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic, it struggled to find a permanent host ever since.

Since 2021 until 2023, it was held in Guadalajara, Fort Worth, and Cancun, but neither of the events were a success, as there was either not sufficient attendance, or problems with the overall organization of the tournament.

In the tournament's history, many players were successful, but none as Martina Navratilova, who won eight WTA Finals titles, three more than joined-second most successful women, Serena Williams and Steffi Graf, who each won five.

The WTA Finals format is unique, and it's unlike any other competition held on the WTA Tour, as it has a round-robin format, with the best eight players of the season being split into two groups of four, from which two best advance into the semifinals.

Similarly to the ATP, the WTA also has one more year-end competition, but in the WTA's case it's not for young players like the Next Gen ATP Finals, but for players ranked lower than ninth, and the competition is called the WTA Elite Trophy, and it serves as a B-tier year-end championship.

You may also like