Madrid Open News

Read all the latest news about Madrid Open

The 2023 Madrid Open is the first simultaneous ATP & WTA Masters 1000 clay-court tournament of the season where players start building up their form towards the second Grand Slam of the season - Roland Garros.

Running from April 26th to May 7th, the tournament boasts an impressive €7,705,780 in prize money and 96 elite players vying for the sought-after 1000 points awarded to the champion. The event is held at the iconic La Caja Mágica, which has been the tournament's home since the surface transitioned from hard to clay in 2009.

Spaniards have a rich history of success here, with local hero Rafael Nadal having clinched the title five times, most recently in 2017, and they young prodigy Carlos Alcaraz winning the most recent tournament in 2022. Among women, Ons Jabeur is the most recent champion.

Date: 26 April - 7 May
Category: ATP 1000 / WTA 1000
Surface: Clay
Location: Madrid, Spain
Venue: La Caja Mágica
Players: 96 players (ATP Entry List /WTA Entry List)
Prize Money: 7,705,780€ (Distribution Overview)
Points: 1000 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw / WTA Draw
Official website:

You may also like