Miami Open

The Miami Open is an annual ATP & WTA 1000 hard-court tennis tournament that takes place in Miami, Florida, United States.

Date: 20 - 31 March
Category: ATP 1000 / WTA 1000
Surface: Hard
Location: Miami, Florida, United States
Venue: Miami Gardens
Players: 96 players (ATP Entry List / WTA Entry List)
Prize Money: $8,995,555 (Distribution Overview)
Points: 1000 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw / WTA Draw
Official website:

The Miami Open is one of the most prestigious and popular competitions on the ATP and WTA calendars. As a Masters 1000 event, the competition offers plenty of rankings points and prize money for the winners each season.

Due to its coveted profile in professional tennis, the competition is sometimes called the fifth major, similar to the Indian Wells Open. The competition also takes place after the other US-based Masters 1000 event at Indian Wells, California.

Both of the competitions combined are referred to as the ‘Sunshine Double’ - given the hot climates of the two venues. Since 1985, when the Miami Open first began, the tournament has been held in various venues in Florida.

Currently, the 12-day competition takes place at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, also home to the NFL team, the Miami Dolphins. The event has been held at Hard Rock Stadium since 2019.

Previously, the ATP and WTA events were hosted at Laver's International Tennis Resort, Boca West, and Key Biscayne. As the Miami Open offers high-ranking points prize money, and because it has a global reputation, top players enter the draw each year.

Due to this, some of the most successful men’s and women’s players of all time have achieved monumental success in Miami. In the men’s draw, Novak Djokovic and Andre Agassi have won the most-ever titles at the competition.

WTA great Serena Williams has also won the women’s event more times than any other player. Other notable achievements at the esteemed professional tennis event include Monica Selles becoming the youngest-ever competitor to win in 1990 at the age of just 16. Carlos Alcaraz holds the same title, but for the men’s edition, after he won the 2022 Miami Open at the age of 18.

You may also like