Dubai Championships

The Dubai Championships is an ATP & WTA outdoor hard court event held in the United Arab Emirates every February.

Date: 26 February - 2 March (ATP) / 18 - 24 February (WTA)
Category: ATP 500 / WTA 1000
Surface: Hard
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Venue: Aviation Club Tennis Centre
ATP Players: 32 players (2024 Dubai Championships ATP Entry List)
WTA Players: 64 players (2024 Dubai Championships WTA Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: $2,941,785 (2024 Dubai Championships ATP Prize Money)
WTA Prize Money: $3,211,715 (2024 Dubai Championships WTA Prize Money)
ATP Points: 500 for champion (2024 Dubai Championships ATP Points)
WTA Points: 1000 for champion (2024 Dubai Championships WTA Points)
ATP Draw: 2024 Dubai Championships ATP Draw
WTA Draw: 2024 Dubai Championships WTA Draw
Official website:

The Dubai Championships, also known as the Dubai Tennis Championships, or Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships for sponsorship reasons, has been played since 1993 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, and it's one of the rare events that host both ATP and WTA tournaments.

They aren't played simultaneously but in consecutive weeks, often attracting some of the strongest fields. It generally features one of the highest prize funds outside of the Grand Slams and unfolds at the Aviation Club Tennis Centre.

The venue has a 5,000-seat main court and has been the hosting site since the start of the event. The list of former champions consists of many great players, such as Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Rafael Nadal, and Novak Djokovic.

On the other hand, the women's tournament, which has a slightly shorter history, was won by the likes of Martina Hingis, Justine Henin, Venus Williams, Simona Halep, and Caroline Wozniacki.

In 2009, the tournament was part of a controversy, when Shahar Pe'er was denied a visa to enter the country, and the tournament director, Salah Tahlak, later claimed that her participation could "incite anger" in an Arab country. As a result, the tournament organizers were fined $300,000.

The tournament also wrote history in a positive way when it started giving players equal prize money in 2005, becoming the first non-Grand Slam tournament to do so.

You may also like