2023 Argentina Open Buenos Aires ATP Draw with Alcaraz & Thiem facing early tests

2023 Argentina Open Buenos Aires ATP Draw with Alcaraz & Thiem facing early tests

by Zachary Wimer

Last updated

The draw for the 2023 Argentina Open in Buenos Aires was released and former world no. 1, Carlos Alcaraz, is part of it as he returns from an injury.

One of the first events on the clay offers a great chance for clay-court specialists to show their skills at the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club. The tournament, which is ATP 250 category, runs from February 13th to 19th and it will be held without defending champion Casper Ruud.

The first-seeded Alcaraz will be the biggest favourite to win the event, but he will face an early test in Buenos Aires. The Spaniard will face off against Fabio Fognini or Laslo Djere already in the second round.

Cameron Norrie is the no. 2 seed at the 2023 Argentina Open and he will be facing one of the home players in the second round. The Brit awaits Facundo Diaz Acosta or Federico Coria, who will fight for the second-round spot and their share of prize money and points.

Lorenzo Musetti, who is the third-seeded player, will start against Pedro Cachin or Thiago Monteiro, and home crowd favourite and 2021 champion, Diego Schwartzman will begin against Pedro Martinez or Bernabe Zapata Miralles.

The Argentinian recently opened up about his father's health, and he will surely receive a lot of support from the crowd in Buenos Aires. Be sure to check the full draw below.

2023 Argentina Open Buenos Aires ATP Draw:

1. Carlos Alcaraz (1)
2. BYE
3. Fabio Fognini
4. Laslo Djere
5. Daniel Elahi Galan
6. Qualifier
7. Qualifier
8. Sebastian Baez (6)
9. Diego Schwartzman (4)
10. BYE
11. Pedro Martinez
12. Bernabe Zapata Miralles
13. Jaume Munar
14. Guido Pella
15. Qualifier
16. Francisco Cerundolo (5)
17. Alex Molcan (7)
18. Dominic Thiem
19. Qualifier
20. Joao Sousa
21. Thiago Monteiro
22. Pedro Cachin
23. BYE
24. Lorenzo Musetti (3)
25. Albert Ramos-Vinolas (8)
26. Roberto Carballes Baena
27. Tomas Martin Etcheverry
28. Hugo Dellien
29. Facundo Diaz Acosta
30. Federico Coria
31. BYE
32. Cameron Norrie (2)


You may also like