2023 Rio Open ATP Draw with Alcaraz, Thiem, Norrie & more

2023 Rio Open ATP Draw with Alcaraz, Thiem, Norrie & more

by Zachary Wimer

Last updated

The draw for the 2023 Rio Open, the first ATP 500 clay-court event of the season, is here and it's full of star names.

Last year, Carlos Alcaraz won the title in Rio de Janeiro and he will want to defend in 2023, but he will need to be at his best to do so. The young Spaniard will take on home wild card Mateus Alves in the first round of the event, which runs from February 20th to 26th.

One of the most attractive names in the draw is Dominic Thiem. The two-time Roland Garros finalist is one of the best clay-court players on the ATP Tour, and he will want to prove it at the 2023 Rio Open, as his comeback from an injury continues. The Austria will begin against Thiago Monteiro in the first round.

But already in the second round, the 2020 US Open champion can face the second-seeded Cameron Norrie, who starts against a qualifier in Brazil.

The tournament is attended by many Argentinians as the fourth-seeded Francisco Cerundolo will start against Roberto Carballes Baena, the eighth-seeded Federico Coria will meet Joao Fonseca, the fifth-seeded Diego Schwartzman will play against Dusan Lajovic, and the sixth-seeded Sebastian Baez will face off against Thomaz Bellucci.

Lorenzo Musetti, who is the third-seeded player at the tournament, will play against one of the qualifier, but already in the second round, he can face one of two players that know how to win, Cristian Garin or Pedro Martinez.

2023 Rio Open ATP Draw:

1. Carlos Alcaraz (1)
2. Mateus Alves
3. Fabio Fognini
4. Qualifier
5. Laslo Djere
6. Alex Molcan
7. Dusan Lajovic
8. Diego Schwartzman (5)
9. Lorenzo Musetti (3)
10. Qualifier
11. Pedro Martinez
12. Cristian Garin
13. Qualifier
14. Juan Pablo Varillas
15. Thomaz Bellucci
16. Sebastian Baez (6)
17. Albert Ramos-Vinolas (7)
18. Thomas Martin Etcheverry
19. Pedro Cachin
20. Daniel Elahi Galan
21. Jaume Munar
22. Bernabe Zapata Miralles
23. Roberto Carballes Baena
24. Francisco Cerundolo (4)
25. Federico Coria (8)
26. Joao Fonseca
27. Joao Sousa
28. Hugo Dellien
29. Dominic Thiem
30. Thiago Monteiro
31. Qualifier
32. Cameron Norrie (2)


You may also like