WATCH: Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair In Anger Again

WATCH: Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair In Anger Again

by Balasz Virag

Last updated

Karolina Pliskova wasn't happy during her match at the 2023 Eastbourne International against Daria Kasatkina, hitting the umpire's chair again.

Some five years ago we saw Karolina Pliskova take out all of her anger on the umpire's chair following a loss to Maria Sakkari in Rome. The situation that led to that outburst was a call by the umpire which the Czech player didn't agree with.

It was a very heated clash against Maria Sakkari in Rome and it was a 3rd set. The score was 5-5 in games and 40-40 in points. Pliskova hit an overhead close to the line that was initially ruled as in. The call was later overturned to out, leaving Pliskova furious. She lost focus after those exchanges with the umpire and supervisor ultimately losing that game and the match.

She unleashed on the umpire's chair after that. It was pretty much 'the Ymer' before 'the Ymer'. Weeks ago Mikael Ymer unleashed on the umpire's chair following a call that he didn't agree with; getting defaulted from that match. Pliskova didn't get defaulted in that one as she did it at the end of the match.

She didn't get defaulted this time either despite doing the same thing. She was playing against Daria Kasatkina and one of the forehands the Russian hit clearly went wide as Pliskova protested the call immediately. Play resumed and Kasatkina hit a winner not long after that ending the rally as Pliskova once again protested the obviously wide ball.

The replay showed it clearly and it also showed Pliskova hitting the umpire's chair during the changeover. Umpire Kader Nouni didn't react and the match continued with the Russian ending up as the winner after three sets. It's the second big error from Nouni in recent weeks as he missed a pretty clear double bounce in the match between Holger Rune and Francisco Cerundolo.


You may also like