2024 Palermo Open WTA Entry List - Svitolina, Badosa, Tomljanovic & More

2024 Palermo Open WTA Entry List - Svitolina, Badosa, Tomljanovic & More

by Nurein Ahmed

The Palermo Open is one of four WTA clay-court tournaments being played after Wimbledon and will run from July 15th to 21st.

This tournament has existed since 1990, but this will only be the fourth edition following the rebrand of tournament categories. It is part of the WTA 250 series and will give women a smooth transition from grass to clay ahead of the Paris Olympics.

The last three editions have featured multiple winners. USA's Danielle Collins won her first Tour-level title in Palemro in 2021. Romania's Irina Camelia Begu won the second edition two years ago.

Last season, China's Qinwen Zheng joined the champion's podium after defeating Jasmine Paolini. The tournament organizers have released the entry list, with former World No. 3 Elina Svitolina set to lead the lineup.

The Ukrainian has won six clay-court titles, including two on Italian soil (Italian Open). The second highest-ranked player in the field is China's Yue Yuan, who became a WTA champion earlier this season in Austin, Texas.

Yuan will be joined by compatriot Xinyu Wang as they look to follow in the footsteps of Zheng, who lifted the trophy last year. A quartet of Italians are assured of a main draw spot.

These are Elisabetta Cocciaretto, 2022 finalist Lucia Bronzetti, Martina Trevisan and Sara Errani. France's Clara Burel is one of five top-50 players on the entry list. This will be her third successive trip to Sicily.

The tournament has named two of the four wild card entries. These will be given to Paula Badosa (a semifinalist during her last trip to Palermo in 2019) and Ajla Tomljanovic (who lost in qualifying in 2011).

Of the remaining two, one will be handed to a Top 10 player who has not been confirmed. Be sure to check the initial entry list for the 2024 Palermo Open below.

2024 Palermo Open WTA Players' Entry List:

Seed Player Name Entry Ranking
1 Elina Svitolina 21
2 Yue Yuan 38
3 Xinyu Wang 40
4 Clara Burel 43
5 Elisabetta Cocciaretto 44
6 Diane Parry 53
7 Tatjana Maria 56
8 Arantxa Rus 58
Anna Blinkova 60
Peyton Stearns 62
Jaqueline Cristian 65
Lucia Bronzetti 67
Petra Martic 76
Mayar Sherif 79
Oceane Dodin 83
Maria Lourdes Carle 87
Martina Trevisan 90
Sara Errani 91
Renata Zarazua 95
Hailey Baptiste 96
Saisai Zheng 89 (SR)
Paula Badosa WC
Ajla Tomljanovic WC


You may also like