The win over the Argentine came after 5 sets of play with the Dane rallying in spectacular fashion despite being a break down in the fifth set. There was a lot of great moment in the match but also a very controversial one which was mostly the fault of umpire Kader Nouni who made two consecutive mistakes.
The situation quickly became viral online with many bashing Rune for what they perceived as a lack of sportsmanship. According to many, he had a pretty good view of the situation yet after the match Rune maintained that he didn't really see a double bounce.
Yeah, so when I was hitting the ball, I didn't know, I just ran for it. But then obviously when I saw it, after he did call it, I saw it after the next point on the TV, and I saw it was a double bounce. But the point already happened and he called the score.
Not many on social media believed that. Cerundolo saw it, the ball boy saw it as well starting to run into the court which resulted in the initial let call. Henman referenced that during a segment on Eurosport explaining how the situation unfolded.
"It’s not an easy call for the umpire, but both players knew that the ball had bounced twice. The ball boy moved at the net, so then the umpire called a let. Cerundolo was saying that the ball bounced twice. That’s clearly a double bounce. The ball boy moved at the net, so then the umpire called a let. Cerundolo was saying that the ball bounced twice. That’s clearly a double bounce."
Henman then added that he was left disappointed by Rune not admitting it was a double bounce. In the Brit's mind, Rune had to have seen the ball bounce twice in front of him. Henman was gutted it happened to Cerundolo who in the past showed great sportsmanship by admitting a double bounce against Andy Murray.
As a player, you know that. I’m a little disappointed in Rune. He’s young and perhaps that hasn’t happened to him too often. For me, it's a double bounce, and that’s your responsibility. You can say that it’s the umpire’s call and play to the umpire’s call, but for me, the good sportsmanship is that [admitting the double bounce].
Cerundolo did the same thing to [Andy] Murray at the US Open. There was a double bounce and he put his hand up and said it bounded twice. I have a lot of respect for that. It was a tricky one that ended up costing Cerundolo.