Vienna Open

The Vienna Open is an ATP 500 hard-court tennis tournament that takes place in Vienna, Austria.

Date: 21 - 27 October
Category: ATP 500
Surface: Hard
Location: Vienna, Austria
Venue: Wiener Stadthalle
Players: 32 players (ATP Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: 2,470,310€ (Distribution Overview)
ATP Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw
Official website:

Often, the Vienna Open is referred to as the Erste Bank Open for sponsorship reasons. Founded in 1974, the tournament is held annually in late October. Wiener Stadthalle has been the host venue for the competition ever since its first edition in 1974.

Previously, the Vienna Open has had many different names due to sponsorship commitments. Some of the previous versions of the event were called the CA-TennisTrophy and the Bank Austria Open. However, the current sponsor, Erste Bank, has been the competition’s premier sponsor since 2011.

Initially, the Vienna Open was part of the Tennis Grand Prix Circuit before it became an ATP 500 competition in 2009. Due to its highly ranked status on the ATP Tour, many former top 10 players and Grand Slam winners have attended the event.

Some of the earlier winners of the event include Andre Agassi, Boris Becker, and Goran Ivanisevic. Certain Austrian players have also lifted the Vienna Open title throughout its history. Horst Skoff became the first-ever home player to win the competition in 1988.

Jurgen Melzer was next to emerge as a tournament victor in 2009 and 2010. The most recent Austrian to win the tournament was Dominic Thiem in 2019. Few singles players have won the Vienna Open multiple times. However, some of the world’s best have achieved success twice in the Austrian capital.

Andy Murray, Roger Federer, Tommy Haas, and Ivanisevic have won twice. As well as the singles draw, a doubles competition also takes place at the Vienna Open.

Former world number one in doubles, Lukasz Kubot holds the record for most doubles wins at the event. The Polish player has won the competition four times. Three of Kubot’s title wins came alongside Brazilian partner Marcelo Melo.

You may also like