2024 Lyon Open ATP Entry List - Humbert, Tiafoe, Monfils & More

2024 Lyon Open ATP Entry List - Humbert, Tiafoe, Monfils & More

by Nurein Ahmed

The 2024 Lyon Open is the last ATP stop before the second Grand Slam of the season commences at Roland Garros.

This event is part of the ATP 250 series and will commemorate its 7th edition since it became part of the tour in 2017. it is played exclusively on outdoor clay courts and will run from May 19th to 25th.

Last year, French teenager Arthur Fils sensationally lifted his maiden ATP title at the Lyon Open by stunning Argentina's Francisco Cerundolo. Consequently, he became the youngest champion in the tournament's history.

Some of the players who have the Lyon Open have done very well at Roland Garros, each reaching a final. These are the 2018 champion, Dominic Thiem, and the 2021 champion, Stefanos Tsitsipas.

The entry list for this year's tournament has been released and features nine players ranked inside the world's Top 40. The tournament will be spearheaded by French lefty Ugo Humbert, who has enjoyed a fantastic season and is primed to become the country's No. 1 player at the Olympics.

Humbert will look to become the fourth home player to win in Lyon. But he will face stiff competition from a man who has won in France in 2024, and that is Montpellier winner Alexander Bublik.

Frances Tiafoe and the Argentinean duo of Francisco Cerundolo and Tomas Martin Etcheverry will also contend for the title. Gael Monfils has been chasing his first tour-level title on clay since 2005 but will be unseeded.

Some of the unheralded players who have performed very well on the dirt this year include two-time runner-up on tour Mariano Navone, Cordoba champion Luciano Darderi, and Brazil's Thiago Seyboth Wild.

Three players will be granted wild cards in the days leading to the tournament's start. Four will have to earn a main draw spot through the qualifying rounds. Additionally, two special exemption spots have been reserved. The full entry list can be seen below.

2024 Lyon Open ATP Players' Entry List:

Seed Name Current Ranking Entry Ranking
1 Ugo Humbert 14 14
2 Alexander Bublik 18 18
3 Frances Tiafoe 21 21
4 Francisco Cerundolo 22 22
5 Tomas Martin Etcheverry 27 27
6 Arthur Fils 32 32
7 Felix Auger-Aliassime 35 35
8 Alejandro Tabilo 38 38
Gael Monfils 40 40
Mariano Navone 41 41
Zhizhen Zhang 49 49
Lorenzo Sonego 52 52
Dominik Koepfer 54 54
Pedro Martinez 55 55
Nuno Borges 56 56
Luciano Darderi 60 60
Aleksandar Vukic 62 62
Thiago Seyboth Wild 63 63


You may also like