Hong Kong Open

The Hong Kong Open is a tennis tournament with a turbulent history, which had different places in the calendar and saw both men's and women's tournaments.

Date: 1 - 7 January (ATP) / 28 October - 3 November (WTA)
Category: ATP 250 / WTA 250
Surface: Hard
Location: Hong Kong
Venue: Victoria Park Tennis Stadium
ATP Players: 32 players (ATP Entry List)
WTA Players: 32 players (WTA Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: $661,585 (Distribution Overview)
WTA Prize Money: $267,082 (Distribution Overview)
ATP Points: 250 for champion (Distribution Overview)
WTA Points: 250 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draws: ATP Draw / WTA Draw
Official website: https://www.hktennisopen.hk/en/

The tennis tournament in Hong Kong has quite a long history, but not very stable, as the tournament has been on and off the tennis calendar for over two decades now, without having a place in the calendar every year.

Held at the Victoria Park Tennis Stadium in Victoria Park, Causeway Bay in Hong Kong, a tournament in the city was held already in 1973, but it wasn't until 1980 that the Hong Kong Open was first held.

While the men's tournament was played regularly until 2002, with champions such as Pete Sampras, Andre Agassi, and Jim Courier, the women's tournament stopped already in 1983, and until 2014, it was held only one more time.

Then, fans in Hong Kong could enjoy five more editions of the WTA action at the Hong Kong Open, as Sabine Lisicki, Jelena Jankovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, and Dayana Yastremska won the tournament between 2014 and 2018.

But then again, the tournament wasn't present in the calendar between 2019 and 2022 before it returned again in 2023 with Leylah Fernandez winning the title. It seemed would be another short stay in the WTA calendar for the tournament, as it wasn't part of the Tour in 2024, but it was later added.

Also the ATP tournament returned to Hong Kong in 2024, and this time, it was placed at the start of the season, giving players a chance to prepare for the first Grand Slam of the season, the Australian Open.

You may also like