Sinner 'Completely Got Over' Missed Crucial Call In Monte Carlo Loss To Tsitsipas

Sinner 'Completely Got Over' Missed Crucial Call In Monte Carlo Loss To Tsitsipas

by Zachary Wimer

Jannik Sinner admitted ahead of the 2024 Madrid Open that he's not thinking about the infamous missed call from the Monte-Carlo Masters.

Sinner last played at the Monte-Carlo Masters, where he was defeated by eventual champion Stefanos Tsitsipas. The Italian was inches away from winning that match, but a huge missed call by the umpires allowed Tsitsipas to survive in the third set.

Sinner would sustain an injury himself after that, which allowed Tsitsipas to completely turn around the match and win the ATP Masters 1000 event, but the Italian is not really thinking about that anymore.

The call certainly changed the outcome of tennis history, but he's not hung up on that. It's something that can happen and does happen, so he's simply moved on.

"No, like I said there, these things can happen. Everyone can make mistakes, that's all. It's clear that I would have preferred to be on the court on Sunday rather than be at home, but there are much worse things in life than something like that. A day later, it's something I completely got over."

Sinner on the Monte-Carlo exit

There will be a lot of eyeballs on Sinner in Madrid in light of what happened at the Monte-Carlo Masters. He looked like the best player at that event and was cruising towards another final and likely another trophy, but then the minor injury happened.

He seems to be healthy, though, so that will make him pretty tough to beat. He's been by far the best player in the world in 2024 so far, so many assume that he will cruise through this event as well.

Time will tell what will happen, but many people will closely monitor Sinner and how he's moving around the court. He's the number one seed, and his first match will likely be against compatriot Lorenzo Sonego. He might also face a qualifier.


You may also like