2024 ASB Classic Auckland ATP Draw With Shelton, Shapovalov, Auger-Aliassime & More

2024 ASB Classic Auckland ATP Draw With Shelton, Shapovalov, Auger-Aliassime & More

by Erik Virostko

The 2024 ASB Classic in Auckland offers players last chance to prepare for the first major of the season, and many took it, with the draw including quite a few interesting names.

For many players, it will be the first ATP tournament of the season, as they chose an approach of missing the first week, and playing the week before the 2024 Australian Open.

The 2024 ASB Classic in Auckland is held from January 8th to 13th, and the top seed at the tournament is American tennis sensation, Ben Shelton, who as one of the top four seeds has a bye in the first round.

In the second round of the tournament, the 21-year-old will already face some real competition, as he can meet either Fabian Marozsan, who bested Carlos Alcaraz in 2023, or Gael Monfils, a veteran on the ATP Tour.

His possible quarterfinal match wouldn't be any easier, with the following part of the draw including matches between Roberto Bautista Agut and Roberto Carballes Baena, and Denis Shapovalov and Sebastian Ofner.

On the other part of the draw is the second-seeded Cameron Norrie, who will start his tournament also in the second round, against the winner of the match between a qualifier and J.J. Wolf.

The Brit will want to make it to the quarterfinals, where a match with the fifth-seeded Christopher Eubanks, or Botic van de Zandschulp may await him.

Felix Auger-Aliassime will also compete in Auckland, with the Canadian starting in the second round against either Marcos Giron or Daniel Altmaier. The highest-ranked teenager in the ATP Rankings, Arthur Fils, will challenge fellow compatriot and another veteran in the draw, Richard Gasquet, in the first round.

The full draw for the 2024 ASB Classic in Auckland can be viewed below with an overview of all first-round matches.

2024 ASB Classic Auckland ATP Draw:

1. Ben Shelton (1)
2. BYE
3. Fabian Marozsan
4. Gael Monfils
5. Roberto Bautista Agut
6. Roberto Carballes Baena
7. Denis Shapovalov
8. Sebastian Ofner (7)
9. Francisco Cerundolo (3)
10. BYE
11. Qualifier
12. Benjamin Bonzi
13. Aleksandar Vukic
14. Taro Daniel
15. Kiranpal Pannu
16. Max Purcell (8)
17. Arthur Fils (6)
18. Richard Gasquet
19. Qualifier
20. Nuno Borges
21. Daniel Altmaier
22. Marcos Giron
23. BYE
24. Felix Auger-Aliassime (4)
25. Christopher Eubanks (5)
26. Botic van de Zandschulp
27. Borna Gojo
28. Qualifier
29. J.J. Wolf
30. Qualifier
31. BYE
32. Cameron Norrie (2)


You may also like