Zhengzhou Open

The Zhengzhou Open is a WTA 500 hard-court tennis tournament that takes place in Zhengzhou, China.

Date: 14 - 20 October
Category: WTA 500
Surface: Hard
Location: Zhengzhou, China
Venue: Zhongyuan Tennis Training Base Management Center
Players: 32 players (WTA Entry List)
Prize Money: $922,573 (Distribution Overview)
Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: WTA Draw

Zhongyuan Tennis Training Base Management Center hosts the Zhenghzou Open each season. The first-ever Zhengzhou Open was held in 2014, and it started as an ITF-level tournament. Until 2017, it remained at the ITF tier but was promoted to the WTA 125 category.

The upgrade occurred as the WTA replaced this competition with the former Connecticut Open from the United States. After just two years as a WTA 125 tournament, the Zhengzhou Open was swiftly upgraded again in 2019 to a WTA Premier competition.

However, after just one year at the Premier tier, the event was canceled for three consecutive years. Between 2020 and 2021, the Covid-19 pandemic led to the cancellation of sporting events in China. Then, in 2022, WTA and ATP events were postponed in China following the Peng Shuai controversy.

When the Zhengzhou Open eventually returned to the calendar in 2023, it was classed as a WTA 500 event - which it has retained ever since. In previous years, the tournament has been dominated by Chinese singles players.

Five of the seven editions before 2024 were won by Chinese players, including Top 10 player Qinwen Zheng, who won in 2023. Other notable winners of the Zhengzhou Open include Anastasia Pivovarova (2016) and Karolina Plískova (2019).

As well as the singles draw, a Zhengzhou Open doubles event takes place simultaneously. Similar to the previous singles draws, many Chinese players have achieved success in doubles. Between 2016 and 2018, the competition was won by all Chinese doubles teams for three consecutive years.

Xun Fangying and You Xiaodi, Han Xinyun and Zhu Lin and Duan Yingying and Wang Yafan lifted the title during this spell. More recently, players from other nations have won the competition. In 2019, the US-Czech pairing of Nicole Melichar and Kveta Peschke was victorious, while Gabriela Dabrowski and Erin Routliffe won in 2023.

You may also like