Geneva Open

The Geneva Open is an ATP 250 clay-court event held each season at the Tennis Club de Genève at the Parc des Eaux-Vives in Geneva, Switzerland.

Date: 19 - 25 May
Category: ATP 250
Surface: Clay
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Venue: Tennis Club de Genève at the Parc des Eaux-Vives
Players: 28 players (ATP Entry List)
Prize Money: 579,320€ (Distribution Overview)
Points: 250 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw
Official website:

The Geneva Open is a clay court competition that usually takes place in May before the Roland Garros each season. In 2015, the Geneva Open returned as an ATP event after 24 years. The original Geneva Open took place between 1980 and 1991, when it was a Grand Prix tennis event.

However, the competition made its comeback on the tour and replaced the defunct Düsseldorf Open. Each season, the historic and prestigious Tennis Club de Genève hosts the Geneva Open tournament. The venue is the oldest tennis club in Switzerland and has an esteemed history of holding tennis competitions and exhibition events.

As an ATP 250 event, the Geneva Open has a singles draw of just 28 players. In addition, a doubles competition with 16 pairs takes place during the one-week event. In the Geneva Open’s first stint between 1980 and 1991, some of the most well-known players lifted the title.

Former Swedish great Bjorn Borg won the second-ever Geneva Open in 1981, while Bjorg’s compatriot Mats Wilander won the competition twice in 1982 and 1983. Upon its return to the ATP in 2015, Swiss player Stan Wawrinka has won the event twice.

Wawrinka was successful in 2016 and 2017 to equal Wilander’s record of two Geneva Open wins. But, Norwegian Casper Ruud has joined the two title club in recent years after he won back-to-back titles in 2021 and 2022.

You may also like