Bastad Open

The Bastad Open is an ATP 250 clay-court tennis tournament held annually after the season's third major in Bastad, Sweden.

Date: 15 - 21 July
Category: ATP 250
Surface: Clay
Location: Bastad, Sweden
Venue: Bastad Tennis Stadium
Players: 28 players (2024 Bastad Open ATP Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: 579,320€ (2024 Bastad Open ATP Prize Money)
ATP Points: 250 for champion (2024 Bastad Open ATP Points)
Draw: 2024 Bastad Open ATP Draw
Official website:

The Bastad Open is an ATP 250 competition based in the city of Bastad, Sweden. For sponsorship reasons, the event is also called the Nordea Open in Bastad. It is also sometimes referred to as the Swedish Open.

In 2023, the Bastad Open celebrated its 75th anniversary after the competition first took place in 1948. However, the competition has roots in the early 20th century. The current venue for the competition is Bastad Tennis Stadium - a clay court arena in Sweden.

It was opened in 1907 by Ludwig Nobel, nephew of Alfred Nobel, who created the infamous Nobel Prize. Between 1948 and 1990, a WTA event also took place at the Bastad Tennis Stadium as well as the men’s draw. However, the women’s competition disbanded after the 1990 edition. The women’s Bastad Open did return in 2009, and it has since been classified as a WTA 125K competition.

In recent years, the quality and beauty of facilities at the Bastad Tennis Stadium and the nearby Hotel Skansen have been recognized by ATP players. For 12 consecutive years between 2001 and 2012, the Bastad Open was voted as the ATP 250 Tournament of the Year.

At the Bastad Open, a 32-player singles draw takes place alongside a 16-pair doubles event. Usually, the competition takes place in mid-summer. Some of the best-ever ATP players have won the singles competition.

The likes of Bjorn Borg, Mats Wilander, Rafael Nadal, David Ferrer, and Casper Ruud won the event. However, one player emerged from this esteemed list with the most Bastad Open wins. Swedish player Magnus Gustafsson was victorious at a record four Bastad Open finals between 1991 and 1998.

You may also like