2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Draw with Alcaraz, Ruud, Rune & more

2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Draw with Alcaraz, Ruud, Rune & more

by Zachary Wimer

Last last updated

The 2023 Mexican Open will be held from February 27th to March 4th and the draw for the 30th anniversary of the event was released.

The tournament, which is an ATP 500 event in Acapulco, will welcome a lot of high-ranked players, although Rafael Nadal won't defend his title. His compatriot, Carlos Alcaraz is the first-seeded and he will try to follow up on his good form in the first round against Mackenzie McDonald.

The second-seeded player at the event is Casper Ruud, who will play his first match since the first major of the season after making an interesting decision to skip his pre-season. The Norwegian will meet one of the qualifiers and in the second round, he can meet J.J. Wolf or another qualifier.

The tournament will be attended by another Scandinavian star, Holger Rune. The young Dane is the fourth-seeded and he'll start his 2023 Mexican Open campaign against another rising star, Ben Shelton, who received a wild card for the tournament.

The 2021 Wimbledon finalist, Matteo Berrettini will also play in Acapulco, and the Italian will start against Alex Molcan, and he can meet the fifth-seeded Cameron Norrie already in the second round as the Brit will start against Adrian Mannarino from France.

The sixth-seeded Frances Tiafoe will start against Yoshihito Nishioka and his fellow countrymen and good friends, Taylor Fritz and John Isner will meet already in the first round. The winner of this match will meet a difficult second-round opponent as Denis Shapovalov and Miomir Kecmanovic will fight it out for that spot.

2023 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Draw:

1. Carlos Alcaraz (1)
2. Mackenzie McDonald
3. Daniel Altmaier
4. Brandon Nakashima
5. Marcos Giron
6. Michael Mmoh
7. Emilio Gomez
8. Tommy Paul (7)
9. Taylor Fritz (3)
10. John Isner
11. Denis Shapovalov
12. Miomir Kecmanovic
13. Christopher Eubanks
14. Feliciano Lopez
15. Yoshihito Nishioka
16. Frances Tiafoe (6)
17. Cameron Norrie (5)
18. Adrian Mannarino
19. Matteo Berrettini
20. Alex Molcan
21. Nuno Borges
22. Qualifier
23. Ben Shelton
24. Holger Rune (4)
25. Alex de Minaur (8)
26. Rodrigo Pacheco Mendez
27. Qualifier
28. Oscar Otte
29. Qualifier
30. J.J. Wolf
31. Qualifier
32. Casper Ruud (2)



You may also like