Raducanu, Osaka & Wozniacki Among 2024 Wimbledon Wild Card Recipients

Raducanu, Osaka & Wozniacki Among 2024 Wimbledon Wild Card Recipients

by Zachary Wimer

The wild cards for the 2024 Wimbledon Championships were announced, and Emma Raducanu, Naomi Osaka, and Caroline Wozniacki are among the recipients.

Raducanu will not have to play in the Wimbledon qualifiers because the Brit was given a wild card entry into the main draw of Wimbledon. Arguably the most popular tennis player in the United Kingdom behind Andy Murray, the 2021 US Open winner was widely expected to get a wild card because her ranking made it impossible for her to enter the main draw directly.

The event finally announced part of the list of wild card recipients, which confirmed the news. Former world no. 1 Osaka is another player whose name is included on the list of wild card recipients, as the Japanese player is one of the biggest brands in tennis.

She, too, failed to improve her ranking enough to enter the main draw directly, but with the wild card, she'll be in the main draw. Osaka didn't play many times at Wimbledon because grass season was part of the year, which she skipped almost intentionally.

However this year, she's playing on grass and looked great, so it will be great to have her in London. Another former world no. 1, Wozniacki, is another player whose ranking didn't allow her to play without a wild card, and she got it for obvious reasons.

The Danish player's dad created a bit of a scene after she didn't get a wild card for Roland Garros, and she opted to skip the whole event without playing the qualifiers.

Other players who got the wild card are another former world no. 1, Angelique Kerber, but also home players Heather Watson and Francesca Jones.

On the men's side, the likes of Liam Broady, Jan Choinski, Arthur Fery, and Paul Jubb were awarded wild cards.

2024 Wimbledon Championships Singles Wild Cards:

Gentlemen's Singles Ladies' Singles
1 Liam Broady (GBR) 1 Francesca Jones (GBR)
2 Jan Choinski (GBR) 2 Angelique Kerber (GER)
3 Jacob Fearnley (GBR) 3 Yuriko Lily Miyazaki (GBR)
4 Arthur Fery (GBR) 4 Naomi Osaka (JPN)
5 Billy Harris (GBR) 5 Emma Raducanu (GBR)
6 Paul Jubb (GBR) 6 Heather Watson (GBR)
7 Henry Searle (GBR) 7 Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
8 To be announced 8 To be announced


You may also like