2024 Brisbane International WTA Entry List - Sabalenka, Rybakina, Osaka & more

2024 Brisbane International WTA Entry List - Sabalenka, Rybakina, Osaka & more

by Nurein Ahmed

The first WTA 500 event of the 2024 season will begin in earnest on New Year's Day, where eight of the world's Top 20 players will lead the pack at the Brisbane International.

Primarily played on outdoor hard courts and serving as one of the Australian Open warm-up tournaments, the Brisbane International will return to the calendar after a four-year absence. Tournament organizers have wasted no time brokering deals to bring the most prominent names on the women's circuit to the event.

Firstly, World No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka will look to continue the fine trend of her fellow compatriots at this event. Since Brisbane International was incepted in 2009, a Belarusian player has reached the finals on four occasions (Victoria Azarenka accounts for two titles).

Sabalenka is the top seed and will be joined by her good friend Elena Rybakina in gracing the courts in Brisbane. The big-serving Kazakh has previously won on Australian soil (Hobart 2020) and will be a major force on the surface.

Karolina Muchova is the third seed and hopes to recover ahead of schedule to play in the opening tournament of 2024. The Czech was forced to miss the final phase of last season due to a wrist injury. It will be nearly four months since her last outing when she returns to Brisbane.

Sabalenka and Rybakina aren't the only big hitters in the draw. The likes of Madison Keys, Jelena Ostapenko, Liudmila Samsonova, and Ekaterina Alexandrova will look to cause an upset or two. Newly-weds Anastasia Potapova and Marta Kostyuk also feature.

Aside from Keys, a slew of Americans appear in the entry list. These include Sofia Kenin, Caroline Dolehide, Sloane Stephens, Peyton Stearns, Danielle Collins, and Bernard Pera. 16-year-old Mirra Andreeva's Top 60 status means she has earned her direct entry into the main draw.

Two wild cards have been confirmed at the Brisbane International. One has gone to home player Kimberly Birrell, while the second has been granted to four-time Grand Slam champion Naomi Osaka, who is returning from maternity absence.

2024 Brisbane International WTA Entry List:

Seed Name Entry Ranking
1 Aryna Sabalenka 2
2 Elena Rybakina 4
3 Karolina Muchova 8
4 Madison Keys 12
5 Jelena Ostapenko 13
6 Liudmila Samsonova 16
7 Daria Kasatkina 18
8 Veronika Kudermetova 19
9 Ekaterina Alexandrova 21
10 Victoria Azarenka 22
11 Magda Linette 24
12 Sorana Cirstea 26
13 Anhelina Kalinina 27
14 Anastasia Potapova 28
15 Elise Mertens 29
16 Sofia Kenin 33
Lin Zhu 37
Karolina Pliskova 38
Marta Kostyuk 39
Linda Noskova 41
Martina Trevisan 42
Caroline Dolehide 44
Katerina Siniakova 45
Sloane Stephens 46
Peyton Stearns 49
Danielle Collins 52
Camila Giorgi 53
Mirra Andreeva 56
Greet Minnen 59
Clara Burel 60
Lucia Bronzetti 61
Ana Bogdan 66
Bernarda Pera 67
Nadia Podoroska 69
Anna Karolina Schmiedlova 73
Irina-Camelia Begu 75
Anna Kalinskaya 76
Viktoriya Tomova 79
Kimberly Birrell (WC)
Naomi Osaka (WC)


You may also like