Rotterdam Open News

Read all the latest news about Rotterdam Open

The Rotterdam Open is a long-tenured men's tennis event held in February in the Netherlands belonging to the ATP 500 category.

It's traditionally played indoors and it has been going on for a very long time being first held in 1972 when Arthur Ashe was champion. The host venue for the event has been the Rotterdam Ahoy multipurpose Indoor Arena which has hosted several events over the years including the Eurovision Song Contest.

The event history is a rather fascinating one as the 1984 singles final was never finished. Lendl and Connors battled but the match was stopped after an apparent bomb threat. Lendl wasn't prepared to finish the match and it was never finished. Roger Federer hasn't played often but his two final appearances broke the attendance record; first in 2012 and then in 2018 as well.

Former Dutch player Richard Krajicek has been tournament director since 2004 and he's generally been able to put together some strong entry lists over the years. The event is popular and visited by multiple top names each year which a quick glance at the winner's list confirms.

The list of champions is long as Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Lleyton Hewitt, Stefan Edberg, Bjorn Borg, and Arthur Ashe all won this event, but it has been dominated by the 'Next-gen' recently as players like Andrey Rublev and Felix Auger-Aliassime lifted trophies.

The 2023 champion was Daniil Medvedev.

Date: 13 - 19 February
Category: ATP 500
Surface: Hard
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Venue: Rotterdam Ahoy
Players: 32 players (ATP Entry List)
Prize Money: 2,074,505€ (Distribution Overview)
Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw
Official website:

You may also like