Monterrey Open

With its 14-year history and reputation for hosting the best players in the world, the Monterrey Open is a true showcase of elite WTA tennis.

Date: 19 - 24 August
Category: WTA 500
Surface: Hard
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Venue: Club Sonoma
Players: 32 players (WTA Entry List)
Prize Money: $922,573 (Distribution Overview)
Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: WTA Draw
Official website:

The Monterrey Open is an annual WTA competition, which was initially a WTA 250 event, but it was upgraded to WTA 500 in 2024. It also used to take place between February and March each season at Club Sonoma, in the Nuevo Leon region in Mexico, but with the upgrade of the tournament, it also changed its location in the calendar to August.

Monterrey Open is an outdoor hardcourt tennis competition. It first took place in the 2009 season. Originally, the tournament was played at the Sierra Madre Tennis Club, where it remained for four seasons.

However, the event moved to Club Sonoma in 2014, and it has been held here ever since. Occasionally, the event is referred to by other names. For instance, a common name is the Abierto GNP Seguros, in reference to the GNP Seguros Stadium, where the competition takes place.

The event is also called the Torneo de Monterrey locally. Often, female players used to participate in the week-long Monterrey Open leading up to the United States-based ‘Sunshine Double’ events of Indian Wells and Miami Open, but that changed in 2024 with the calendar change.

Some of the most high-profile players in WTA history have won the Monterrey Open singles title. The retired French player and one-time Wimbledon champion Marion Bartoli won the first-ever competition in 2009.

Russian player Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova has won the singles competition a record four times. Canadian Leylah Fernandez also achieved success at the GNP Seguros Stadium, winning back-to-back titles between 2021 and 2022.

In the doubles, French and Italian duo Nathalie Dechy and Mara Santangelo were the inaugural winners in Monterrey in 2009. Czech doubles partners Iveta Benesova and Barbora Zahlavova-Strýcova also won consecutive doubles titles between 2010 and 2011.

You may also like