2023 Croatia Open Umag ATP Draw With Wawrinka, Thiem, Lehecka & more

2023 Croatia Open Umag ATP Draw With Wawrinka, Thiem, Lehecka & more

by Zachary Wimer

The 2023 Croatia Open in Umag is one of the ATP 250 clay-court tournament, and the draw has been released for the tournament running from July 24th to 30th.

Last year, two youngsters, Jannik Sinner and Carlos Alcaraz, met in the Croatia Open final. After the Spaniard won the title in 2021, his fellow youngster from Italy won last year, and in 2023, Holger Rune wanted to complete the three-peat for the forming Big Three of the future.

But the young Dane was forced to withdraw from the tournament, and other players will get a chance to shine. Without the defending champion and any Top 10 player taking part, three former Grand Slam champions will try to seize their chance.

Stan Wawrinka is one of those former major winners, and the Swiss player is also the only one that is seeded. The sixth-seeded Swiss player will start his tournament against a qualifier in the first round of the competition.

Joining him as fellow Grand Slam winner is Dominic Thiem. The Austrian will want to finally forget past injury troubles and form swings, and he'll have a chance to do that against one of the qualifiers in the first round.

Home-crowd favourite Marin Cilic is another Grand Slam champion in the draw, and making his comeback, the Croatian will also play against one of the qualifiers in the first round. But all of them will be facing tough opposition as the first-seeded Jiri Lehecka will want to use his chance after Rune's withdrawal.

The Czech player has a bye in the first round as all top four seeds, and in the second round, he'll play against either Dominic Thiem or a qualifier. Lorenzo Sonego is the second seed, and the Italian will play against the winner of the match between Marco Cecchinato and Alexander Shevchenko. To see the full draw for the 2023 Croatia Open Umag, be sure to check it out below.

2023 Croatia Open Umag ATP Draw:

1. Jiri Lehecka (1)
2. BYE
3. Dominic Thiem
4. Qualifier
5. Marin Cilic
6. Qualifier
7. Qualifier
8. Matteo Arnaldi (7)
9. Sebastian Ofner (3)
10. BYE
11. Alexei Popyrin
12. Benjamin Bonzi
13. Duje Ajdukovic
14. Dino Prizmic
15. Zsombor Piros
16. Christopher O’Connell (5)
17. Stan Wawrinka (6)
18. Qualifier
19. Marc-Andrea Huesler
20. Federico Coria
21. Taro Daniel
22. Martin Landaluce
23. BYE
24. Roberto Carballes Baena (4)
25. Albert Ramos-Vinolas (8)
26. Jaume Munar
27. Fabian Marozsan
28. Juan Manuel Cerundolo
29. Marco Cecchinato
30. Alexander Shevchenko
31. BYE
32. Lorenzo Sonego (2)


You may also like