Croatia Open

The Croatia Open Umag is an ATP 250 clay-court tennis event, which takes place every season in Umag, Croatia.

Date: 21 - 27 July
Category: ATP 250 
Surface: Clay
Location: Umag, Croatia
Venue: ITC Stella Maris
Players: 28 players (2024 Croatia Open ATP Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: 579,320€
ATP Points: 250 for champion
Draw: 2024 Croatia Open ATP Draw
Official website:

The Croatia Open, also called the Umag Open, is an annual clay-court tennis competition. Presently, it is an ATP 250 event, which is held at the ITC Stella Maris each year. The tournament is also called the Plava Laguna Croatia Open Umag due to sponsorship reasons.

In 1990, the first-ever Croatia Open took place. However, it was initially called the Yugoslav Open. The competition was the first-ever ATP event in the region, and it took place just two weeks before the Roland Garros in May. More recently, the Croatia Open has taken place in July after the conclusion of Wimbledon.

Moreover, the Croatia Open has an esteemed history of attracting some of the best ATP players. For instance, former winners include previous men’s number one players, Thomas Muster, Carlos Moya, Marcelo Rios, and Juan Carlos Ferrero. But some of the up-and-coming tennis players have fond memories of competing in Umag, too.

In 2021, Carlos Alcaraz won his first ATP title at the Croatia Open, defeating Richard Gasquet in straight sets. Jannik Sinner achieved a similar feat in 2022 when he won his first-ever ATP clay court title. The Italian beat Alcaraz across three sets in the final.

Even though the competition is often fierce at the Croatia Open season after season, one player achieved monumental success in Umag. Former Spanish player Moya is the most successful player at the Croatia Open, winning a record five titles. In addition, Moya holds the record for most consecutive wins. He was victorious at three successive events between 2001 and 2003.

You may also like