2023 Bastad Open ATP Draw With Ruud, Rublev, Zverev & more

2023 Bastad Open ATP Draw With Ruud, Rublev, Zverev & more

by Zachary Wimer

The 2023 Bastad Open will welcome players on the clay courts once again, running from July 17th to 23rd.

After the third major of the season played on the grass courts, some players are looking to finally switch back to their favourite surface, which in many cases is the red dirt. Casper Ruud is one of those players, as he hinted multiple times, and he'll be the top seed at the 2023 Bastad Open.

The Norwegian won the tournament in 2021, but this year, the defending champion is Francisco Cerundolo from Argentina. As the top seed, Ruud has a bye in the first round, and in the second round of the competition, he'll start against either Alexander Shevchenko, or the brother of the defending champion, Juan Manuel Cerundolo.

The second-seeded player in the tournament is Andrey Rublev. The Russian had a chance to already win one exhibition tournament on the surface in Spain, and now he'll try to translate that form into a second-round match against either Marco Cecchinato or a qualifier.

Alexander Zverev will also compete at the event and the fifth-seeded German will start against Alex Molcan in the first round of the competition. The defending champion, Francisco Cerundolo, will meet the winner of the match between Luca Van Assche and Dragos Nicolae Madaras.

There will be also two matches of players from the same country in the first round. The eighth-seeded Sebastian Baez and Federico Coria will play an all-Argentinian match, while two wild cards, Leo Borg and Elias Ymer will meet in an all-Swedish battle.

Lorenzo Musetti is the third seed at the event and the Italian can also meet his compatriot in the second round as Matteo Arnaldi will take on Emil Ruusuvuori. To see the full draw for the 2023 Bastad Open, check it out below.

2023 Bastad Open ATP Draw:

1. Casper Ruud (1)
2. BYE
3. Juan Manuel Cerundolo
4. Alexander Shevchenko
5. Qualifier
6. Bernabe Zapata Miralles
7. Sebastian Ofner
8. Tomas Martin Etcheverry (6)
9. Lorenzo Musetti (3)
10. BYE
11. Matteo Arnaldi
12. Emil Ruusuvuori
13. Dusan Lajovic
14. Qualifier
15. Qualifier
16. Alejandro Davidovich Fokina (7)
17. Sebastian Baez (8)
18. Federico Coria
19. Elias Ymer
20. Leo Borg
21. Dragos Nicolae Madaras
22. Luca Van Assche
23. BYE
24. Francisco Cerundolo (4)
25. Alexander Zverev (5)
26. Alex Molcan
27. Thiago Monteiro
28. Daniel Elahi Galan
29. Marco Cecchinato
30. Qualifier
31. BYE
32. Andrey Rublev (2)


You may also like