2023 Swiss Open Gstaad ATP Draw With Wawrinka, Thiem, Bautista Agut & more

2023 Swiss Open Gstaad ATP Draw With Wawrinka, Thiem, Bautista Agut & more

by Zachary Wimer

The 2023 Swiss Open Gstaad promises to bring the clay-court action back with an ATP 250 event in Gstaad, Switzerland.

Last year, Roberto Bautista Agut lifted the trophy in Gstaad, and this year, the Spaniard is the top seed in the draw. As all top four seeds, he doesn't have to play the first round, and in the second round of the competition, he will await either Pedro Cachin from Argentina or Taro Daniel from Japan.

On the other side of the draw is the second-seeded Miomir Kecmanovic who will need to play against one of the two talented youngsters ins the second round. It will be either French prodigy Arthur Fils or Swiss wild card Dominic Stricker.

But the event will be interesting especially because of Grand Slam champions that will compete in it. Home hero Stan Wawrinka will want to forget Wimbledon loss to Novak Djokovic, and the Swiss player will start against the sixth-seeded Roberto Carballes Baena in the first round of the competition.

Another major winner at the tournament will be Dominic Thiem, who experienced a painful five-set loss to Stefanos Tsitsipas at Wimbledon. The Austrian will want to forget it on his favourite surface, starting against Alexandre Muller in the first round and possibly taking on the fifth-seeded Zhizhen Zhang from China in the second round.

The third-seeded Lorenzo Sonego has a bye in the first round, but his second-round match will be a very difficult one as he'll take on one of experienced veterans. The Italian's opponent will be either fellow compatriot Fabio Fognini or Albert Ramos-Vinolas from Spain. To see the full draw for the 2023 Swiss Open Gstaad, check it out below.

2023 Swiss Open Gstaad ATP Draw:

1. Roberto Bautista Agut (1)
2. BYE
3. Pedro Cachin
4. Taro Daniel
5. Jaume Munar
6. Alexander Ritschard
7. Stan Wawrinka
8. Roberto Carballes Baena (6)
9. Yannick Hanfmann (4)
10. BYE
11. Benjamin Bonzi
12. Daniel Altmaier
13. Alexandre Muller
14. Dominic Thiem
15. Qualifier
16. Zhizhen Zhang (5)
17. Mikael Ymer (7)
18. Juan Pablo Varillas
19. Arthur Rinderknech
20. Qualifier
21. Albert Ramos-Vinolas
22. Fabio Fognini
23. BYE
24. Lorenzo Sonego (3)
25. Laslo Djere (8)
26. Qualifier
27. Marc-Andrea Huesler
28. Qualifier
29. Arthur Fils
30. Dominic Stricker
31. BYE
32. Miomir Kecmanovic (2)


You may also like