Newport Open

The Newport Open is an ATP 250 post-Wimbledon grass-court event held in Newport, Rhode Island, United States, each season.

Date: 15 - 21 July
Category: ATP 250 
Surface: Grass
Location: Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Venue: International Tennis Hall of Fame
Players: 28 players (ATP Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: $661,585 (Distribution Overview)
ATP Points: 250 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw
Official website:

The Newport Open is often called the Hall of Fame Open, as the men’s tournament takes place at the International Tennis Hall of Fame. Originally, the Newport Open was called the National Lawn Tennis Championship, which first took place in 1881.

However, since 1976, the competition has been classified as an official ATP-level event. The grass courts at the International Tennis Hall of Fame provide the setting for the only elite-level grass competition played outside of Europe. Moreover, the Newport Casino grounds, where the grass courts are situated, are National Historic Landmark properties.

As much of the ATP grass court season occurs in Europe, in preparation for Wimbledon, the Newport Open has to take place after the London-based Grand Slam. Due to this, the Newport Open is held one week after Wimbledon. Even though many high-profile players use the post-Wimbledon week for recovery, some top players compete at the Hall of Fame Open each season.

As a result, some ATP greats such as Lleyton Hewitt, John Isner, and Kevin Anderson have won the competition. Isner has the most title wins at the Newport Open. The American player won the tournament four times between 2011 and 2019.

Former British-Canadian player Greg Rusedski also achieved success at the Hall of Fame Open. Rusedski lifted three titles throughout his career. However, the now-retired player won his first Newport Open in 1993 before waiting over a decade before notching back-to-back victories in 2004 and 2005.

You may also like