Japan Open

The Japan Open is an ATP and WTA 500 hard-court tennis tournament that takes place every year in Tokyo, Japan.

Date: 25 September - 1 October  (ATP) / 21 - 27 October (WTA)
Category: ATP 500 / WTA 500
Surface: Hard
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Venue: Ariake Colosseum
ATP Players: 32 players (ATP Entry List)
WTA Players: 32 players (WTA Entry List)
ATP Prize Money: $1,818,380 (Distribution Overview)
WTA Prize Money: $922,573 (Distribution Overview)
ATP Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
WTA Points: 500 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: ATP Draw / WTA Draw
Official website: https://www.japanopentennis.com/

The Japan Open is an ATP and WTA 500 competition that is played every year in Tokyo, Japan. Since 2018, the long-standing Asian-based competition has been held at the Ariake Coliseum in the Musashino Forest Sports Plaza.

The first-ever Japan Open took place in 1915, and it was a men's-only event. However, the tournament had an on-off period in the early 20th century, appearing again in the 1930s. During this period, the tournament also took place in Osaka

In 1972, the event returned as an ATP Grand Prix event. The women’s version of the competition was also launched in 1970. However, in 2008, the women’s draw ended and moved between Osaka, Hiroshima, and Tokyo before settling at the Utsubo Tennis Center in 2023.

As one of the most well-regarded and prestigious events on the Asian circuit, many top ATP and WTA players compete at the Japan Open each season. As a result, several current and former tennis stars have won the event.

Former winners in the men’s competition include now-retired Swiss player Roger Federer, who won in 2006. Rafael Nadal, Andy Murray, John McEnroe, and Ivan Lendl are also among the former victors. However, no player has more ATP Japan Open wins than Swedish player Stefan Edberg. He won the competition four times between 1987 and 1991.

Similarly, some top WTA players have won the women’s event. Caroline Wozniacki, Marion Bartoli, Maria Sharapova, and Monica Seles are among the previous champions. However, former Japanese player Kimiko Date achieved unrivaled success at the competition in the 1990s. During a five-year spell, Date won the Japan Open four times.

You may also like