Bogota Open

The Bogota Open is a WTA 250 clay-court tournament, held annually in the South American nation of Colombia in Bogota.

Date: 1 - 7 April
Category: WTA 250
Surface: Clay
Location: Bogota, Colombia
Venue: Centro de Alto Rendimiento
Players: 32 players (WTA Entry List)
Prize Money: $267,082 (Distribution Overview)
Points: 250 for champion (Distribution Overview)
Draw: WTA Draw
Official website:

Sometimes, the event is also referred to as the Colsanitas Cup presented by Zurich for sponsorship reasons, or Copa Colsanitas. Each season the Bogota Open takes place at the Centro de Alto Rendimiento - a clay court complex and country club.

The competition often takes place in April and many players use the event to build form and fitness leading up to the Roland Garros. In addition, the event is one of a few WTA Tour-level events played in South America.

In 1998, the Bogota Open made its debut on the WTA Tour, and it has remained on the roster ever since, despite changing the tournament category multiple times throughout its long history. A main singles draw of 32 players takes place, while a doubles competition of 16 pairs is also played across the one-week event.

Early in Bogota Open history, former Colombian player Fabiola Zuluaga dominated the tournament. Between 1998 and 2004, Zuluaga won the competition a record four times. Since 2004, retired Spanish player Lourdes Domínguez Lino has won the event twice, and also the likes of Caroline Garcia and Amanda Anisimova lifted the trophy in Bogota.

German player Tatjana Maria has also won the Bogota Open two times in 2022 and 2023. In the doubles draw, Argentinian player Paola Suarez has been the most successful competitor. She won the doubles draw four times with four different partners between 1998 and 2007. In addition, the former Argentinian player won the singles event on two occasions in 1998 and 2001.

You may also like