ATP Race Update: Sinner Assumes Control After Winning First Grand Slam Title

ATP Race Update: Sinner Assumes Control After Winning First Grand Slam Title

by Nurein Ahmed

Jannik Sinner may not be the World No. 1 for now, but he is at the top of the mountain in the ATP Race, which counts points earned in the current season.

Sinner became the first Italian player in history to win the Australian Open after an epic comeback in the final to beat Daniil Medvedev in five sets. Victory catapults Sinner into the limelight. He is no longer a breakout star, but he is now the star.

By virtue of winning the first Grand Slam of 2024, Sinner accumulated 2,000 points and took control of this year's ATP Race to Turin. Beaten finalist Daniil Medvedev received 1,300 points thanks to revised changes to the points distribution system on the ATP Tour.

It is pertinent to note that Sinner and Medvedev were playing their first tournament of the new season in Melbourne and didn't have a headstart to this year's race. Alexander Zverev was in charge of the race in the past two weeks but dropped to the third spot after a semifinal finish in Melbourne.

Novak Djokovic became an Australian Open semifinalist for the first time in his career. Nevertheless, it was a result that took him into the fourth spot. Djokovic has topped the year-end race eight times in his career, which is an ATP record.

Andrey Rublev is in the fifth spot, which is the same spot as his world ranking. At the same time, Poland's Hubert Hurkacz is in sixth. Alex de Minaur exited the Top 10 after staying there for only two weeks, but he is in the top eight in the early race.

Carlos Alcaraz finished second in last year's race but is currently in ninth spot with 400 points. The Spaniard was a quarterfinalist in Melbourne and will play two tournaments during the Golden Swing next month.

The ATP Race will determine the eight players who will qualify for the 2024 ATP Finals and the player who finished the year as the World No. 1.

2024 ATP Race as of January 29th, 2024:

Rank Player Points
1 Jannik Sinner 2000
2 Daniil Medvedev 1300
3 Alexander Zverev 1135
4 Novak Djokovic 860
5 Andrey Rublev 650
6 Hubert Hurkacz 550
7 Alex de Minaur 465
8 Taylor Fritz 445
9 Carlos Alcaraz 400
10 Alejandro Tabilo 378
11 Grigor Dimitrov 350
12 Nuno Borges 325
13 Arthur Cazaux 300
14 Jiri Lehecka 300
15 Cameron Norrie 295
16 Miomir Kecmanovic 250
17 Adrian Mannarino 235
18 Casper Ruud 230
19 Brandon Nakashima 220
20 Stefanos Tsitsipas 215
21 Jack Draper 215
21 Emil Ruusuvuori 215
21 Holger Rune 215
24 Leandro Riedi 212
25 Zizou Bergs 201
26 Karen Khachanov 200
27 Juncheng Shang 200
28 Ben Shelton 200
28 Sebastian Korda 200
30 Arthur Fils 200
31 Valentin Vacherot 195
32 Taro Daniel 188
33 Aleksandar Kovacevic 178
34 Alex Michelsen 176
35 Jordan Thompson 175
36 Flavio Cobolli 160
37 Jakub Mensik 160
38 Pierre-Hugues Herbert 160
39 Duje Ajdukovic 159
40 Dominik Koepfer 151
41 Tommy Paul 150
42 Tomas Machac 138
43 Luca Van Assche 138
44 Sebastian Ofner 135
45 Pedro Martinez 134
46 Alejandro Davidovich Fokina 130
47 Ugo Humbert 125
48 Fabian Marozsan 125
49 Lorenzo Musetti 125
49 Matteo Arnaldi 125


You may also like