ATP Race Update: Alcaraz Rises To 3rd Thanks To Indian Wells Win But Trails Leader Sinner

ATP Race Update: Alcaraz Rises To 3rd Thanks To Indian Wells Win But Trails Leader Sinner

by Nurein Ahmed

Carlos Alcaraz became the first man to win back-to-back Indian Wells titles since 2016 and leaped into the top three of this year's ATP Race.

The Spaniard was at his sparkling best during the fortnight in California despite kicking off his title defense under a cloud of doubt regarding his form and fitness. And in a rematch of last year's final, the outcome was the same.

Alcaraz defeated Daniil Medvedev and received 1000 points for his efforts. He jumped to a high of third, behind the Russian, who remained in second place. The race leader is still Jannik Sinner, who has tallied 2,900 points.

Alexander Zverev stays in fourth place, having led briefly in the first few weeks of the season, while Acapulco champion Alex de Minaur is down in fifth. Andrey Rublev occupies the sixth spot.

The race still includes some unfamiliar names in the Top 10. These are Sebastian Baez (7th) and Ugo Humbert (8th), who are double champions in 2024.

Tommy Paul's run to the Indian Wells semifinal took him to ninth place, making him the top-performing American this year. Casper Ruud rounds off the Top 10 list.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic dips to 11th after a shock third-round defeat to Italian lucky loser Luca Nardi in Indian Wells. With confirmation that he will not play in Miami, expect the Serbian ace to cascade further in the race.

Djokovic has topped the ATP Race a record eight times and became the oldest year-end No. 1 last season. But with almost three months of the season gone, it looks like he has a mountain to climb to return to the summit.

The ATP Race also determines the eight of the best that will qualify for the season-ending ATP Finals in Turin. Some of the players who played at the event last year but remain out of the Top 8 positions include Stefanos Tsitsipas and Holger Rune.

2024 ATP Race as of March 18, 2024:

Rank Player Points
1 Jannik Sinner 2900
2 Daniil Medvedev 2150
3 Carlos Alcaraz 1500
4 Alexander Zverev 1435
5 Alex de Minaur 1395
6 Andrey Rublev 1050
7 Sebastian Baez 1050
8 Ugo Humbert 975
9 Tommy Paul 965
10 Casper Ruud 925
11 Novak Djokovic 910
12 Alexander Bublik 840
13 Grigor Dimitrov 815
14 Hubert Hurkacz 810
15 Taylor Fritz 795
16 Holger Rune 765
17 Jiri Lehecka 625
18 Karen Khachanov 610
19 Alejandro Tabilo 598
20 Cameron Norrie 545
21 Jordan Thompson 535
22 Stefanos Tsitsipas 515
23 Ben Shelton 500
24 Facundo Diaz Acosta 498
25 Jakub Mensik 440
26 Jack Draper 425
27 Nuno Borges 423
28 Arthur Cazaux 400
29 Tallon Griekspoor 400
30 Emil Ruusuvuori 400
31 Mariano Navone 393
32 Adrian Mannarino 385
33 Sebastian Korda 375
34 Flavio Cobolli 365
35 Miomir Kecmanovic 360
36 Frances Tiafoe 350
37 Luciano Darderi 344
38 Brandon Nakashima 341
39 Felix Auger-Aliassime 325
40 Aleksandar Kovacevic 316
41 Nicolas Jarry 315
42 Facundo Bagnis 315
43 Dominik Koepfer 311
44 Marcos Giron 310
45 Borna Coric 309
46 Alex Michelsen 306
47 Valentin Vacherot 301
48 Gael Monfils 300
49 Francisco Cerundolo 300
50 Arthur Fils 300


You may also like