2024 Rio Open ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Jarry, Cilic & more

2024 Rio Open ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Jarry, Cilic & more

by Nurein Ahmed

The Rio Open will commemorate its 10th year as an ATP 500 tournament and South America's biggest clay court spectacle, running from February 19th to 25th.

The 2024 edition is stacked following the release of the entry list that is led by last year's runner-up and World No. 2 Carlos Alcaraz, who tends to rekindle his fondest memories when he plays this tournament. Alcaraz was confirmed as the first entrant of the ATP 500 event last October.

Alcaraz's debut on the ATP Tour was in this tournament back in 2020 when he defeated compatriot Albert Ramos Vinolas en route to the second round. He won the tournament two years later and will attempt to become the first double champion of the event in February.

But he'll need to fend off a packed field full of big hitters and claycourt specialists. One of them will be a direct contender for the title and a man who came mighty close to defeating him in 2023. Nicolas Jarry was in fine form when he played the Golden Swing last year.

The Chilean was a few games away from the upset but lost in three sets. Jarry certainly helped Cameron Norrie's cause in the final, as the Brit would prevail over Alcaraz to lift the crown. Norrie will return to Rio looking to defend his title as the fourth seed.

The South American contingent will be present and in large numbers, with the Argentines dominating the 32-player singles field. Francisco Cerundolo, Sebastian Baez, and Tomas Martin Etcheverry are the current top three Argentinean men on tour.

2019 champion Laslo Djere is not to be underestimated on clay as he tends to bring his best tennis. There is a spot in the draw for former US Open champion Marin Cilic, who is using a Protected Ranking. Brazilian hopes will rest on Thiago Seyboth Wild, who scored a career-best win over Daniil Medvedev at last year's Roland Garros.

One of the confirmed wild cards has gone to 21-year-old Gustavo Heide, who is a Sao Paulo native, with four more players expected to join the main draw from qualifying in the weekend preceding the tournament's official start. The complete entry list for the 2024 Rio Open is indicated below.

2024 Rio Open ATP Players' Entry List:

Seed Name Current Ranking Entry Ranking
1 Carlos Alcaraz 2 2
2 Nicolas Jarry 18 18
3 Francisco Cerundolo 21 21
4 Cameron Norrie 22 22
5 Sebastian Baez 29 29
6 Tomas Martin Etcheverry 32 32
7 Laslo Djere 33 33
8 Arthur Fils 34 34
Sebastian Ofner 37 37
Alejandro Tabilo 49 49
Daniel Altmaier 50 50
Dusan Lajovic 51 51
Yannick Hanfmann 52 52
Stan Wawrinka 56 56
Roberto Carballes Baena 63 63
Pedro Cachin 74 74
Thiago Seyboth Wild 77 77
Bernabe Zapata Miralles 78 78
Juan Pablo Varillas 81 81
Jaume Munar 82 82
Federico Coria 84 84
Albert Ramos-Vinolas 85 85
(WC) Gustavo Heide 245
Marin Cilic - 21 (PR)
(WC) A+


You may also like