2024 Argentina Open Buenos Aires ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Wawrinka, Norrie & more

2024 Argentina Open Buenos Aires ATP Entry List - Alcaraz, Wawrinka, Norrie & more

by Nurein Ahmed

The 2024 Argentina Open will be the second stop for the ATP caravan during the Golden Swing and will run from February 12th to 18th.

The entry list for this year's tournament has already been revealed. Argentinean fans will warmly welcome World No. 2 Carlos Alcaraz back after the news of the Spaniard's return was announced as early as June 2023.

Alcaraz is the defending champion, and one of 28 players in the singles draw. This ATP 250 will be held in Buenos Aires, which is Argentina's cosmopolitan capital city. It will be the second of two ATP tournaments held in Argentina, following the Cordoba Open.

Tennis fans who have richly enjoyed watching clay court tennis in February will be excited by the field in Buenos Aires. With Alcaraz confirmed as the top seed, he will face plenty of challengers in his wake if he wants to defend his title, something that has not been done in this event since 2014.

Chile's Nicolas Jarry has previously tested him on the clay in Rio last season, and he will be the number two seed. Jarry was in top gear during last year's Golden Swing, winning a title in his home city of Santiago, Chile.

The Argentinean contingent will be in high decibel levels, too, led by its top-ranked player Francisco Cerundolo, who is the third seed. Clay court experts Sebastian Baez and Tomas Martin Etcheverry are also seeded.

British No. 1 Cameron Norrie lost to Alcaraz in last year's final; he'll get another chance to redeem himself, while French youngster Arthur Fils will take part in the South American Golden Swing for the first time. He'll be the eighth seed.

Stan Wawrinka will make his first trip to Buenos Aires in 11 years. The last time he played there, he was a runner-up, losing to David Ferrer. As he approaches 39, could it be a hint Wawrinka is looking to bid goodbye to his South American fans?

Two wild cards have been confirmed. One of them is Diego Schwartzman, who has fallen outside the world's Top 100. Two players will receive a special exemption to play this tournament, while four will enter through the qualifying draw. The complete entry list of players is indicated below.

2024 Argentina Open Buenos Aires Players' Entry List:

Seed Name Current Ranking Entry Ranking
1 Carlos Alcaraz 2 2
2 Nicolas Jarry 18 18
3 Francisco Cerundolo 21 21
4 Cameron Norrie 22 22
5 Sebastian Baez 29 29
6 Tomas Martin Etcheverry 32 32
7 Laslo Djere 33 33
8 Arthur Fils 34 34
Sebastian Ofner 37 37
Alejandro Tabilo 49 49
Daniel Altmaier 50 50
Dusan Lajovic 51 51
Yannick Hanfmann 52 52
Stan Wawrinka 56 56
Roberto Carballes Baena 63 63
Pedro Cachin 74 74
Thiago Seyboth Wild 77 77
Bernabe Zapata Miralles 78 78
(WC) Facundo Diaz Acosta 90
(WC) Diego Schwartzman 107


You may also like