2024 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Entry List - Zverev, Tsitsipas, Rune & more

2024 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Entry List - Zverev, Tsitsipas, Rune & more

by Nurein Ahmed

Last updated

The 2024 Mexican Open in Acapulco will be one of two tournaments staged on Mexican soil in late February and will run from February 26th to March 2nd.

The Mexican Open is part of the ATP 500 series, and since switching surfaces from clay to hard courts, it has maintained a mantra of attracting the world's top-ranked players on a regular basis. And in 2024, the case is no different.

However, the beach town on Mexico's Pacific Coast is still reeling from the after-effects of a catastrophic hurricane that hit on October 25th. It will only be four months since disaster struck in Acapulco and left the city in ruins with a trail of wreckage.

Sadly, the stadium court in Acapulco was also affected as pictures circuiting at the time showed it resembled that of a massive swamp. A huge part of the debris from what was confirmed as the Otis Hurricane is still visible within the area to this date.

The ATP confirmed the tournament would go ahead in 2024, with some of the tennis stars who frequented this tournament pledging their donations in rebuilding efforts. And in what will be a huge lift for the city's spirits, this tournament will serve as a consolation.

At least 11 of the world's Top 20 players will play in Acapulco which will go a long way to generate huge revenues. The confirmed entry list features four Top 10 players, and these include Alexander Zverev, Holger Rune, Taylor Fritz, and Stefanos Tsitsipas.

Last year's champion, Alex de Mnaur, captured the first ATP 500 title of his career and is returning to defend his crown. Casper Ruud is also making a pitstop in Mexico, while Grigor Dimitrov, who memorably won the inaugural tournament when Acapulco switched to hard courts in 2014, will play.

A formidable list of American talent will also be on show. Fritz will lead the charge, which also includes Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Ben Shelton, and Christopher Eubanks.

At least four players must navigate the qualifying draw to enter the main draw. Three players will be granted wild cards in the days leading to the tournament. The complete entry of the 2024 Mexican Open Acapulco is as indicated below.

2024 Mexican Open Acapulco ATP Players' Entry List:

Seed Name Current Ranking Entry Ranking
1 Alexander Zverev 6 6
2 Holger Rune 7 7
3 Taylor Fritz 9 9
4 Stefanos Tsitsipas 10 10
5 Alex de Minaur 11 11
6 Casper Ruud 12 12
7 Grigor Dimitrov 13 13
8 Frances Tiafoe 14 14
Tommy Paul 15 15
Ben Shelton 16 16
Cameron Norrie 19 19
Felix Auger-Aliassime 30 30
Christopher Eubanks 32 32
Laslo Djere 34 34
Roman Safiullin 36 36
Matteo Arnaldi 38 38
Sebastian Ofner 40 40
Miomir Kecmanovic 41 41
Daniel Evans 42 42
Max Purcell 43 43
Jordan Thompson 44 44
Nuno Borges 47 47
Mackenzie McDonald 48 48
(WC) A+


You may also like