2024 San Diego Open WTA Entry List - Pegula, Kostyuk, Badosa & more

2024 San Diego Open WTA Entry List - Pegula, Kostyuk, Badosa & more

by Nurein Ahmed

The 2024 San Diego Open has been allocated a new spot on the calendar and will serve as a preparatory tournament for the Sunshine Swing during the US spring hardcourt season.

This year's San Diego Open will run from February 26th to March 3rd, and the initial entry list was released. The tournament will continue being part of the WTA 500 series since it returned to the circuit back in 2022 and will be held at the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, California.

Both Iga Swiatek and Barbora Krejcikova - winners of the last two editions of the event - are not competing in the 2024 edition. This means we are guaranteed a new champion in San Diego. One of the favorites on paper is USA's No. 2 woman, Jessica Pegula, who has had a rocky start to 2024.

Pegula has played in this tournament once and lost to Iga Swiatek in the 2022 semifinal. She is one of two Top 10 players in the field, along with Karolina Muchova. The Czech has not played since last year's US Open and withdrew from the 2024 Australian Open due to a wrist injury.

Last year's quarterfinalist Beatriz Haddad Maia also features. At least three Ukrainian players have signed up to play in the San Diego Open. These are Marta Kostyuk, Dayana Yastremska and Lesia Tsurenko. The trio are currently ranked among the world's Top 40.

Some interesting names who will pose a danger to the higher-ranked players include Paula Badosa, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, and 2022 runner-up Donna Vekic. Russia's Anna Kalisnkaya is another name to keep tabs on after a hot start to 2024.

The tournament will offer up to four wild cards into the main draw, and six players will need to scale the qualifying hurdle the weekend before the official start to enter the main draw field. The complete entry list for this year's San Diego Open is indicated below.

2024 San Diego Open WTA Players' Entry List:

Seed Player Entry Ranking
1 Jessica Pegula 4
2 Karolina Muchova 10
3 Beatriz Haddad Maia 13
4 Emma Navarro 23
5 Marta Kostyuk 28
6 Dayana Yastremska 29
7 Lesia Tsurenko 31
8 Donna Vekic 34
Leylah Fernandez 37
Anna Kalinskaya 38
Xinyu Wang 40
Caroline Dolehide 41
Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 42
Arantxa Rus 43
Tatjana Maria 44
Zhu Lin 45
Paula Badosa SR


You may also like