Aryna Sabalenka & Taylor Fritz win 2023 Eisenhower Cup

Aryna Sabalenka & Taylor Fritz win 2023 Eisenhower Cup

by Sebastian Dahlman

Last updated

Although the 2023 Indian Wells BNP Paribas Open is yet to begin, fans were treated to a spectacle on Tuesday night as players compete in the 2023 Eisenhower Cup.

The event, which was played in the format of the Tie-Break Tens aimed to help people in need while entertaining the crowd at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Eight teams signed up for the event and there were only the biggest names from the ATP & WTA Tours.

Because of its fast format, the matches started and ended quickly and players had very little time to focus on their next meeting, but one thing they could focus on, was surely having fun and entertaining the crowd in Indian Wells.

Maria Sakkari and Stefanos Tsitsipas took care of the first win of the night as they defeated Cameron Norrie and Paula Badosa, who replaced Emma Raducanu in the event. The Greek team won 12-10 to advance to the next round.

Then, another 'national team' succeeded as WTA's world no. 1, Iga Swiatek, proved to be a good doubles team with Hubert Hurkacz, defeating Canada's Felix Auger-Aliassime and Leylah Fernandez comfortably 10-6.

One of the most interesting pairings was the teaming up of Ons Jabeur and Casper Ruud. Despite seemingly nothing in common, these two players both lost in two Grand Slam finals last year and so a strong bond was formed. And it showed in their first round as they defeated local favorites Jessica Pegula and Tommy Paul 10-5.

In the last match of the first round, Aryna Sabalenka and Taylor Fritz successfully teamed up to beat the last team added to the event, Stan Wawrinka and Belinda Bencic, who couldn't find their rhythm and lost 10-4.

Iga Swiatek and Hubert Hurkacz continued their victorious journey also in the semifinals, defeating Maria Sakkari and Stefanos Tsitsipas 10-7 and moving into the final to fight for the $200,000 cheque.

In the second semifinal meeting, Aryna Sabalenka and Taylor Fritz took on Ons Jabeur and Casper Ruud in a match that didn't disappoint the fans in Indian Wells as this year's Australian Open champion and the defending champion in Indian Wells won 10-8 to advance to the final.

In the final match, Sabalenka and Fritz proved to be the best team once more, defeating Swiatek and Hurkacz 10-8 and lifting the winner's trophy. Fritz experienced a nice family bonding on the court, as the trophy was presented to him by his aunt, who happened to be a part of organization supporting the event.


You may also like