Gauff Left Out Of USA's Billie Jean King Cup Qualifiers Team

Gauff Left Out Of USA's Billie Jean King Cup Qualifiers Team

by Nurein Ahmed

Last updated

The United States is the most successful country in the Billie Jean King Cup, but it will be without its top-ranked player in the 2024 qualifying tie next month.

The Billie Jean King Cup Qualifiers are just around the corner, with ties scheduled to take place in the second week of April. The 18-time champions of this prestigious team competition will face Belgium at the USTA National Campus in Orlando between April 12th and 13th.

New captain Lindsay Davenport has selected her first squad, which has some interesting names. The biggest headline is the absence of World No. 3 and reigning US Open champion Coco Gauff.

Gauff did not feature in last year's group-stage finals in Spain because of scheduling challenges. She was competing at the WTA Finals in Cancun, which made her unavailable for selection in the subsequent week.

The USA finished second in the group, losing a key tie against Czechia and being eliminated in what was captain Kathy Rinaldi's last tournament before handing the reins to former World No. 1 Davenport.

Davenport is no stranger to this competition. She has won it three times in her illustrious career and was determined to ensure that she fielded a full-strength lineup for next month's tie.

However, the decision to leave out Gauff from the team is a huge surprise, although it might not have been her intention. The new squad will feature familiar faces.

These include Jessica Pegula (who withdrew from last year's finals selection because of the WTA Finals), Madison Keys, and Taylor Townsend. The trio are expected to get more game time in the tie.

Rising star Emma Navarro, who defeated Aryna Sabalenka in Indian Wells for her biggest career win, has earned her first call-up. Last year's Guadalajara Open finalist, Caroline Dolehide, also earned her first nomination into the squad.

Belgium has also named its team, which includes Sofia Costoulas, Hanne Vandewinkel, Marie Benoit, and Kimberley Zimmermann.


You may also like