WATCH: Alcaraz Gives Up Point After Admitting Illegal Shot Against Shelton

News
Sunday, 01 June 2025 at 18:27
alcaraz carlos barcelona25
Carlos Alcaraz is one of the fairest players on the ATP Tour, and he once again proved it in his fourth-round match against Ben Shelton at the 2025 Roland Garros.
Alcaraz drew a very challenging opponent in the fourth round of this year's Roland Garros. After beating his first three opponents (Giulio Zeppieri, Fabian Marozsan, and Damir Dzumhur), the Spaniard took on Ben Shelton.
The match was scheduled as the third match on the Court Philippe Chatrier, and after Elina Svitolina's win over Jasmine Paolini, and Iga Swiatek's dramatic victory over Elina Svitolina, it was time for the first men's match of the day.
The good camaraderie between the two players was obvious from the moment the first ball was hit, as both Alcaraz and Shelton are among the most friendly players on the ATP Tour.
That camaraderie and great sportsmanship were on full display already in the first set of the match. At 3-3, Shelton had to save a break point, but after doing so, he had a game point at AD-40. Alcaraz missed the return after the American's serve, but the four-time Grand Slam champion immediately complained to the umpire that he thought the ball had touched the net.
Shelton heard those complaints and offered to replay the point, even though he himself wasn't sure whether it was supposed to be a let call or not. It was a crucial point, shortly after a break point, so the American's gesture was a great show of sportsmanship, even though his opponent refused.
Alcaraz got a chance to repay his opponent only a few minutes later. The first set ended in a tie-break, with the young Spaniard winning 10-8 after saving three set points.
Following such an intense set, the opening game of the second set was crucial, and it looked like it, too. The game lasted 12 minutes, only a minute less than the epic 18-point tie-break, which included two changeovers.
One of the reasons why the game was so long was also because of Alcaraz's moment of honesty. At 30-all, the two played a rally, in which the second seed approached the net. With the ball in Shelton's forehand, the American thought that he had no other choice but to attempt to power the ball past his opponent.
Shelton attempted a passing shot with a cross-court forehand to which Alcaraz quickly reacted. The Spaniard stretched as much as he could, eventually getting the ball across the court, and seemingly winning the point.
However, Alcaraz's racket flew out of his hand while trying to hit the ball, and it was not clear whether he hit the ball when the racket was still in his hand.
But the Spanish player didn't want to leave the umpire and his opponent guessing. Alcaraz quickly admitted that he threw the racket, even though Shelton was convinced that he had lost the point.
It was a great moment of sportsmanship, especially at such a crucial stage. It meant Shelton's break point, which the American player didn't use. He then had five more break points in that game, but Alcaraz still held his serve.
Popular News
Just In