Chile Open

The Chile Open, currently known as the Movistar Chile Open for sponsorships reasons, has been a longstanding tennis event in Chile belonging to the ATP 250 category.

Date: 26 February - 3 March
Category: ATP 250
Surface: Clay
Location: Santiago de Chile, Chile
Venue: Club Deportivo Universidad Catolica
Players: 32 players (2024 Chile Open ATP Entry List)
Prize Money: $661,585 (2024 Chile Open ATP Prize Money)
Points: 250 for champion (2024 Chile Open ATP Points)
Draw: 2024 Chile Open ATP Draw
Official website:

The event was first held in 1930, as the Chile International Championships, but it hasn't remained a continuous event throughout history. Between 1970 and 1973, it was called the Chile International Open Championships, and in the years 1974 and 1975, the tournament was called the Chile International Open.

It changed cities and venues multiple times, with the current iteration of the event starting in 1993. The event was held in Santiago for the first few years, eventually moving to Vina del Mar, then back to Santiago, and once more back to Vina del Mar.

It's been in Santiago since 2020, again belonging to the ATP 250 category in its current format. The event has never switched surfaces, though, as it was always held on clay, which is why many of the former champions are players who love to play on the red clay.

Many iconic names took part over the years, such as Rafael Nadal, Jim Courier, Mats Wilander, and Carlos Moya, but most of the big names didn't win the event. The most successful player at the event was native Chilean Fernando Gonzalez, who was crowned champion four times.

The event was held at the Club Deportivo Universidad Católica, and Chileans won the trophy multiple times, to the home crowd's delight. The most recent Chilean champions were Cristian Garin, who won in 2021, and Nicolas Jarry, who triumphed two years after that, in 2023.

You may also like