Alcaraz Snaps Medvedev's Win Streak to Lift Indian Wells Trophy and Become World No. 1

Alcaraz Snaps Medvedev's Win Streak to Lift Indian Wells Trophy and Become World No. 1

by Zachary Wimer

Last updated

Carlos Alcaraz became the fourth Spanish men in history to win the Indian Wells after he defeated Daniil Medvedev in the final.

Prior to the final match, Medvedev defeated his previous 19 opponents and wanted to win his fourth consecutive title. On the other hand, Alcaraz lost one match this season, but he was stopped by both an injury and Cameron Norrie in Rio de Janeiro.

The 2023 Indian Wells was the first ATP 1000 event of the season and for both Alcaraz and Medvedev, it was their first final at this tournament. The two met once before, but it was a long time ago when the Spaniard was far from a complete player as his opponent beat him at Wimbledon in 2019.

Sometimes, things don't got according to a plan and Sunday evening was surely one of those days for Medvedev. From start to finish, the Russian couldn't find his footing and at some moments, he could just watch the mastery of his opponent.

In the first set of the match, Alcaraz started with an early break and he carried that advantage throughout the set. Medvedev couldn't produce anything on the return and so the 19-year-old had no troubles, winning the first set 6-3.

After ending the first set quickly, Alcaraz continued positively also in the second set. He started it by winning 10 consecutive points and after a short time, he led 3-0 with two breaks.

That seemed to be a score that was unsolvable for the Russian and it proved to be that way very soon. Alcaraz didn't have to focus on the return games, he just had to serve the match out and that's exactly what he did.

After an hour and seven minutes, the Spaniard won the match 6-3, 6-2 while Medvedev hit only 4 winners and made 14 unforced errors and he will surely want to forget the final as soon as possible.

On the contrary, for Alcaraz, the triumph means that he returns to the World No. 1 spot in the ATP Rankings, dethroning Novak Djokovic who wasn't able to enter the United States to compete.


You may also like