2024 Mallorca Championships ATP Draw With Shelton, Monfils, Thiem

2024 Mallorca Championships ATP Draw With Shelton, Monfils, Thiem

by Zachary Wimer

The 2024 Mallorca Championships is one of the last two ATP 250 tournaments before the season's third Grand Slam, Wimbledon.

Many great players attended the tournament in Mallorca in the past, including Stefanos Tsitsipas, who won his only grass trophy in the Spanish city. Last year's trophy was won by Christopher Eubanks, who later went on to make a historic run at Wimbledon, winning an award for the breakthrough player at the tournament.

The top seed in this year's event is Ben Shelton who hopes to find some kind of form ahead of Wimbledon. He played at the event last year, losing in the opening round to compatriot Eubanks, but he's returning this year as he's currently 0-2 on the surface in 2024.

He doesn't want to enter Wimbledon without a win on grass, and that's why he traveled to Mallorca. A first-round bye will allow him to get used to the courts before taking on either Luca Nardi or Rinky Hijikata.

Gael Monfils will also play in Mallorca, hoping for some practice time ahead of Wimbledon. Grass was never his best surface, but his match against fellow veteran Dominic Thiem could be a spectacle.

The Austrian is going to retire after this year, and returning to Mallorca will be emotional for him, but at least he'll have a spirited player on the opposite side of the net.

Last year's champion, Eubanks, will also return as he will play against Jakub Mensik in the first round. The Czech player has a big serve, which can help him to cause an upset.

2024 Mallorca Championships ATP Draw:

Player Opponent
Ben Shelton (1) Bye
Luca Nardi Rinky Hijikata
Qualifier Qualifier
Yannick Hanfmann Jordan Thompson (7)
Adrian Mannarino (3) Bye
Nuno Borges Alex Michelsen
Jaume Munar Sebastian Ofner
Pedro Martinez Luciano Darderi (5)
Christopher Eubanks (8) Jakub Mensik
Fabio Fognini (WC) Qualifier
Qualifier Alexander Shevchenko
Bye Alejandro Tabilo (4)
Gael Monfils (6) Dominic Thiem (WC)
Roberto Carballes Baena (WC) Pablo Carreno Busta
Roberto Bautista Agut Taro Daniel
Bye Ugo Humbert (2)


You may also like