Djokovic Becomes First Man To Win Every Grand Slam Tournament Three Times

Djokovic Becomes First Man To Win Every Grand Slam Tournament Three Times

by Balasz Virag

Novak Djokovic has become the first man to win every Grand Slam at least three times, equalling three women who did it in the past.

Novak Djokovic's 2023 Roland Garros finished in a triumph as the Serbian comfortably beat Casper Ruud to win the event. It was a very satisfying conclusion for the Serbian who had some issues leading up to the event like the loss to Holger Rune in Rome as well as the recurring elbow issue that troubled him for much of this clay season.

The Roland Garros win is a major one because it added yet another record to his name. The Serbian is now the only male player to have ever won all four Grand Slams at least three times. Nobody else did it on the men's side. Rafael Nadal didn't do it, Roger Federer didn't do it and none of the other legendary players before him didn't do it.

It was done before in tennis, a long time ago when Margaret Court did it. Steffi Graff was then another player to win every major three times, as well as Serena Williams after that. Djokovic now did too, and his journey toward this record began a long time ago. Back in 2008 when he won his maiden Grand Slam trophy. It was the Australian Open, his first. One of many, one of ten he has now.

He would get to number 3 in Australia in 2012. It was his 5th Grand Slam trophy overall though only in Australia did he manage to win three times up to that point. His next 3rd came at Wimbledon and that was in 2015.

The next 3rd came in 2018 when he won the US Open for the 3rd time in his career, claiming already his 14th Grand Slam trophy overall. His 3rd French Open finally arrived in 2023, his 23rd Grand Slam trophy and the one that made this record a possibility.


You may also like